Minutes, KAMATYC Business Meeting, March 3, 2012, Great Bend, KS

Brian Howe called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. Twenty people were in attendance.

Chris Imm, treasurer, reported that since the membership year ran September 1 to August 31, only 10 people had paid their membership dues before the conference, but many more paid today. The treasury currently has a balance of about \$2100. The annual expenses are almost exclusively related to food at the KAMATYC meeting, and a donation for the AMATYC hospitality room at the annual AMATYC meeting. KAMATYC also obtained a new EIN from the IRS, to meet tax reporting requirements.

A discussion was held concerning the membership year, particularly as it relates to voting membership. With the annual conference in the spring, but voting constitutionally required in the fall, and the membership year beginning September 1, the number of members who can officially vote is very small (due to failure to pay dues early in the fall). A motion was made, seconded, and passed, that the membership year be changed from the current calendar year to be from spring conference until spring conference. For the transition, the current membership year is extended until the spring conference of 2013.

Brian Howe shared the URL for the KAMATYC web site: www.ka.matyc.org (hosted on the AMATYC server).

A discussion was held concerning the initiation of KAMATYC awards, modeled on the AMATYC Teaching Excellence and Mathematics Excellence Awards. It was decided to use the same procedures and guidelines as the national awards, so that the KAMATYC winners could be submitted for the national award. For the upcoming Teaching Excellence Award (whose deadline is December, 2012), an ad hoc TE Award committee composed of Steve Wilson (chair), Sarah Jackson, and Chris Imm would accept nominations and choose the KAMATYC recipient, and they would use a mid- or late-summer deadline so that the state award could be announced and given at the Kansas City Math Tech Expo. For the next Mathematics Excellence Award (whose deadline is in late 2013), and ad hoc ME Award committee composed of Carol Tracy (chair), Kent Craghead, and Leesa Pohl would do the same, but using deadlines with a goal of giving the award at the spring 2013 conference.

Rachel Bates, elected president-elect for the 2011-2012 term, resigned to pursue a doctorate at the University of Oklahoma. A motion was made that Tim Warkentin be president-elect, and he was elected by those present at the meeting.

Uwe Conrad was appointed by Brian Howe to be the chair of the nominating committee for the election this fall of KAMATYC officers for the 2013-2014 term.

Brian Howe adjourned the meeting at 4:30 p.m.