Minutes of the 2015 KAMATYC Business Meeting

Attendees: Uwe Conrad (Cowley), Alan Dsouza (Cowley), Kristen Hathcock (Barton), Brian Howe (Barton), Chris Imm (Johnson Co), Brooke Istas (Cowley), Sarah Jackson (Pratt), Shelby Jansen (Wichita), Jeff Lewis (Johnson Co), Leesa Pohl (Donnelly), Brian Southworth (Independence), Paul Walcher (Neosho), Ellen Wilson (guest), Steve Wilson (Johnson Co)

Call to Order: President Sarah Jackson called the meeting to order at 3:21 pm, March 7, 2015.

Treasurer's Report: Chris Imm reported a balance of \$3121. Because of changes in the membership rate and year (now conference to conference), the number of members is down, but the income is up so it evens out.

AMATYC 2014: President Sarah Jackson was unable to attend the Nashville meeting. Steve Wilson reported that KAMATYC's poster was present at the Parade of Affiliates poster session, that affiliate scholarships would continue, and that an affiliate delegate (chosen by KAMATYC) and two state delegates (appointed by the Central VP) would be needed.

Changes to KAMATYC 2014 Minutes: Corrections to two names, and one clarification.

Awards: Though KAMATYC did set up an award process, no award has yet been made. Even AMATYC had no award this past year. Discussion followed. It was suggested that rather than using the AMATYC process (which has not worked), KAMATYC should develop its own process. A committee was formed (Brian Howe, Leesa Pohl, Chris Imm), charged with developing a plan to report to the membership by about August 1, with a goal of an award at the 2016 KAMATYC spring conference.

Acknowledgements: President Sarah Jackson thanked several members for assistance in her first year as president, especially the conference host (Shelby Jansen), the former president (Tim Warkentin, previously from Cloud Co), and several current Board members who gave frequent input and assistance (Chris Imm, Brian Howe, Steve Wilson).

Current Board: Paul Walcher volunteered for the vacancy in president-elect, and received an appointment to that position by the president. (The constitution requires that an election will need to be held in order to succeed to the presidency.) Because of Tim Warkentin's resignation, Brian Howe continues to serve as Immediate Past President. Chris Imm is treasurer, Steve Wilson is secretary, Dylan Faullin (Dodge City) and Leslie Wenzel (Garden City) are the at-large Board members. The president appointed Brooke Istas as membership committee chair. The nominating committee chair remains vacant.

AMATYC 2015: To be held November 19-22 in New Orleans. No one was sure yet if they were going to attend, so determining delegates at this time is problematic. The president will email the KAMATYC membership either at the end of spring semester, or by the end of August, to see if anyone has finalized plans to attend.

KAMATYC 2016: Because many individuals were able to attend both yesterday's iTrac conference and today's KAMATYC meeting, both hosted by Wichita Area Technical College, it was suggested that we consider doing the same next year. Therefore, KAMATYC will (tentatively) meet on Saturday, March 5, 2016, at Wichita Area Technical College. It was also suggested that for those unable to travel to Wichita, a GoTo meeting link be available at a discounted registration rate, so as to encourage KAMATYC memberships.

Website Advertisements: A communication from education degree.com was received requesting a link on the KAMATYC web site. Discussion followed. Currently, the KAMATYC web site has a link to AMATYC (with which we are affiliated) and links to community colleges in Kansas. The mood of the meeting was to avoid commercial links on principle, so the request will be rejected.

Adjournment: President Sarah Jackson adjourned the meeting at 4:16 pm.